Cookies on the
NIAA website

Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site. Some cookies may have already been set. You can delete and block the cookies but this may impair the functionality of the website. To find out more about the cookies, please see our privacy policy.

RCoA Payne Stafford Tan Award

The Payne Stafford Tan Award was established through the generosity of an American friend of the College, Mr Norman Knight, in honour of the medical careers of Professor James P Payne, Dr J A Timothy Stafford and Dr Oon Tan. The aim is to mark excellence in clinical practice, teaching or research in anaesthesia, critical care or pain management.

Successful Applicants


No award


Dr Rebecca Szekely, Whipps Cross Hospital
Attendance at Emerging Clinical Leaders course run by the Kings fund


Dr Danielle Huckle, Cardiff School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Science
Attendance at International Sepsis Forum 2014, Paris

Project Report
 Report from Dr D Huckle 2014 (147 KB)


No award


Dr Zahid Khan, City Hospital, Birmingham
Attendance at Society of Critical Care Medicine 2014 Annual Congress, San Francisco, USA

Project Report
 Final Report from Dr Z Kahn 2012 (175 KB)


No award


Drs Isabelle Reed and Eleanor Walker
Project Title: Laryngeal mask airway cuff pressures and sore throat at University College London Hospital (UCLH)

Project Report
 Payne Stafford Tan Winners 2010.pdf (69 KB)


Dr Dom Hurford
Project: Attendance at Difficult Airway Society Conference, Perth 2009, to present a paper on the, 'Comparison of the Paediatric StorzĀ®; Video Laryngoscope and the GlidescopeĀ®; Cobalt Video Laryngoscope under simulated 'normal' and 'difficult' infant airways'